top of page
  • Emilia Poyiadgi

WEEK 5

ACHIEVEMENT LOG

28th February - 6th March 2022



WHAT DID I DO THIS WEEK?

  • Discuss plans with Sound Designer

  • Experiment with art techniques, supplies and gather research

  • Creation of the Art Bible

  • Supporting documents - Asset feedback table, final assets sharepoints


SOUND DESIGN UPDATE

This week, I got into contact with Harry Williams, are designated Sound Designer to discuss the progress with the project! I forwarded him a short description of our new game idea, and explained how players will have influence over the music they hear. I explained what exactly we needed from him and did a general check-up, in which he agreed to and expressed his interest in the idea! I informed him that I will be forwarding him a 'Sound Bible' which he can use as a foundation to produce the soundtrack from in the upcoming weeks. This will be to outline exactly what we want and how it should sound, as well as snippets for inspiration.


ART EXPERIMENTATION & ART BIBLE

This week it was my responsibility to produce the Art Bible, to guide the creation of assets amongst Kiera and I. We had an art style in mind (hand-drawn, traditional) but experimenting beforehand allowed me to familiarise myself with drawing techniques and provide Kiera with a detailed description of how to achieve our desired style. During this, I experimented with water colours and different techniques on paper, but concluded that using tonal shading on textured sketchbook paper, is perfect for Getaway. I documented my findings and guidance in the Art Bible which can be accessed on our Google Docs! I also produced supporting documents including an asset list with a list of expectations for each asset and a completion date.


WHAT DIDN'T GO WELL? / TEAM DECISIONS


Both feeling slightly stressed but we know we can deal with it. We have a lot to sort out, including the entire game development, asset production and structure of a physical space. We are not used to dealing with additional assets, such as the setup of a physical area, rather than working in Unity and being able to upload this online. We know the schedule will keep us on track as long as we get all of our tasks done and work according to this, we should be good to go. I believe in us both! Team BitShort all the way.


STEPS FOR NEXT WEEK


According to our schedule, we have planned next week to begin testing the setup for Getaway. This week we got into contact with the media stores to borrow equipment and we have organised to collect two projectors next week. Our main focus for next week will involve testing different setups and evaluating which will work best for our experience. We will then take the necessary steps to get a hold of all the equipment we need to fulfil our intended player experience for our Arcade Events during the summer. This will also allow us to provide the Fine Art department with extra details regarding the structure we need. I should also be focusing on marketing. Kiera should also be working on her VR prototype still, so we can have the premise of the interaction down in Virtual Reality.


HOW DO I FEEL?


I feel excited to finally get our hands on some equipment and test different setups, this will be fun and I can't wait to experiment with what media stores has to offer. We have almost reached the middle of the project, so I am determined to begin development now because I feel we have a lot of technical issues and development to do that we have not yet begun. According to our schedule, this should take place around next week.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

WEEK 13

ACHIEVEMENT LOG 23rd May - 25th May 2022 WEEK 13 WHAT DID I DO THIS WEEK? Final set-up testing! Further and Final Game Development Embedded Getaway into our BitShort.Studio site! Promoted our Arcade E

WEEK 12

ACHIEVEMENT LOG 16th May - 21st May 2022 WEEK 12 WHAT DID I DO THIS WEEK? Final Asset Creation - Recreate ski-lift animation Further development - Game V8/9 Setup Testing - two VIVITEK projectors Crea

WEEK 11

ACHIEVEMENT LOG 9th May - 15th May 2022 WEEK 11 WHAT DID I DO THIS WEEK? Prepare presentation for the 17th May Setup testing across two screens! Playtesting all week Game Version 7 Imported final soun

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
bottom of page