top of page
  • Emilia Poyiadgi

WEEK 13

Updated: May 25, 2022

ACHIEVEMENT LOG

23rd May - 25th May 2022



WEEK 13

WHAT DID I DO THIS WEEK?

  • Final set-up testing!

  • Further and Final Game Development

  • Embedded Getaway into our BitShort.Studio site!

  • Promoted our Arcade Events via Instagram & Twitter

  • Final Game Overview & Personal Reflection blog

  • HAND-IN!


FINAL SET-UP TESTING!

This week was exciting! Media Stores had their new projectors delivered and we got to use them. We were so impressed by the outcome of our testing as we finally had a setup that we were pleased with. For our final set-up, we visited the Rotunda to get a realistic representation of what our Degree Show might look like. As we were testing, we got to spoke with Andy Brook and see our walls for the first time - they look insane. All we have to do is re-visit WSA after hand-in and paint our walls, embed cameras and get them in position, and then we are DONE! The outcome of testing was great overall, as we managed to see what our game would look like projected in the space of the show. The quality of the new projectors was great, the settings were easy to adjust and they were simple to use. The projections aligned and everything looked PERFECT! - Minus the laptops on the floor and the cables flying about. But this is something we'll sort during the summer.


FINAL GAME DEVELOPMENT!

After this last testing session, we began to make the final few refinements to the game. These last few changes made the experience just how we expected and we are so happy with the result. We had a problem with the loading screen and opening this on different devices, which changed the way assets were aligned. So to overcome this, I combined all assets into one GIF which will prevent this from happening again. GETAWAY IS OFFICIALLY COMPLETE!


GETAWAY IS LIVE!

After being happy with the final game version, we attempted to upload Getaway to our itch.io and bitshort.studio site. The process of this was fairly easy for itch and we faced no problems with this, however, the bitshort.studio site took a lot of perseverance, but we got there in the end! People can now visit these two sites and run our experience in a new browser. On both sites, I also wrote up a quick 'how to play' and 'useful tips' section, because we felt this would be useful, especially during times of distress and overwhelm. We wanted to make set-up as easy as possible for users. We are so happy the game is live and we can't wait for people to experience it. I will continue to market our game and soon let people know that they can play Getaway now!


PROMOTION & MARKETING

Earlier this week, I posted on our Instagram and Twitter to promote the Arcade Events! I have posted our official 'invite', which I also plan to send out to guests to invite to both events in Winchester and London. We have already gained some engagement with these posts and I cannot wait to see the outcome in the summer! Despite handing in, I will still continue to market the game on our social platforms, and market the events until they end!


HAND-IN

I am writing this minutes before I hand-in my work. I am in disbelief! This year has come so fast and we have come so far. I am so proud with our final result and words can't describe how I am feeling to be finishing third year already. For now, we will continue to polish and organise the setup of our space. Next up, the EVENTS!



HOW DO I FEEL?


I feel immensely proud of Kiera and I. The BitShort Team has performed amazingly well and I am so proud of the progress we have made over the last three years. This was an amazing project to work on and I am so happy we went forward with our biggest idea yet. I certainly want to continue working on this project and have no intention to walk away from it any time soon. I think it has great potential, and I'd love to see how it can be taken further.


As well as having a well deserved break, we will be working on the structure of our space and continuing to test projectors etc, until our setup is as desired. We will organise transporting this to both Arcade Events, and make sure everything is set in stone before then. I will be using my NOTION to document our further process after hand-in.


For now, I am going to have a cup of tea.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

WEEK 12

ACHIEVEMENT LOG 16th May - 21st May 2022 WEEK 12 WHAT DID I DO THIS WEEK? Final Asset Creation - Recreate ski-lift animation Further development - Game V8/9 Setup Testing - two VIVITEK projectors Crea

WEEK 11

ACHIEVEMENT LOG 9th May - 15th May 2022 WEEK 11 WHAT DID I DO THIS WEEK? Prepare presentation for the 17th May Setup testing across two screens! Playtesting all week Game Version 7 Imported final soun

WEEK 10

ACHIEVEMENT LOG 2nd May - 8th May 2022 WEEK 10 WHAT DID I DO THIS WEEK? Continue marketing on all social platforms Updated our itch.io site Setup Testing - new projector type. Playtesting Game V6 Edit

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
bottom of page